School Life

    Food, Cookery, Nutrition & Child Development

    Food, Cookery, Nutrition & Child Development is part of the Social Studies Faculty

    • Mrs G Gohil - Al- Sheikh - Head of Faculty
    • Ms A Miell - Head of Food and Nutrition
    • Mrs J Bwye – Technician

    Click here to view the Food, Cookery and Nutrition Learning Journey

    Food Programmes of Study

    Key Stage3 -  Food and Nutrition

    All students study Food and Nutrition in Years 7 and 8.  Add in - Students can opt to study Food and Nutrition in Year 9.

    In Year 7 students have 1 lesson a week for half of the year.  Students learn basic cooking skills and how to be confident in the kitchen.  We cover the topics of healthy eating, current government guidelines for a healthy diet, the nutrients in our food, food packaging and food waste.

    In Year 8 students have Food and Nutrition all year, for 1 hour a week, for half a year. We build upon basic cooking skills with a focus on making meals so that students can feed themselves and others.  We cover various theory topics such as the future of food, environmental issues, where our food comes from and nutrition.

    Students can opt to study Food and Nutrition in year 9. Students have 2 lessons every week. One lesson is practical cooking and the other one covers a wide range of topics to prepare students for GCSE. Students will learn vital life skills and become independent and confident cooks. They will also gain a sound knowledge of nutrition, diet and health; British and international cuisines, the basic principles of food science and current issues with food and the environment.

    Bishop Ramsey offers 2 Key Stage 4 subjects in this category:

    1. KS4 Food Preparation and Nutrition (AQA 8585)                                                                                                                      
    2. KS4 Child Development: Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in Child Development (J818)

    Details about all courses can be found below.

    Key Stage 4 - Food Preparation and Nutrition

    Food Preparation and Nutrition is an enjoyable and engaging subject that aims to give students valuable practical skills as well food and nutrition knowledge.

    Following the AQA specifications (8585) students study the following topics:

    • Food preparation skills – these are intended to be integrated into the five sections: Food, nutrition and health
    • Food science                                                      
    • Food safety
    • Food choice
    • Food provenance


    EXAM: Paper 1: Food Preparation and Nutrition (50%)

    What's assessed

    Theoretical knowledge of food preparation and nutrition from subject content.

    How it's assessed

    • Written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes
    • 100 marks
    • 50% of GCSE
    • Exam is sat at the end of Year 11


    • Multiple choice questions (20 marks)
    • Five questions each with a number of sub questions (80 marks)



    What's assessed

    Task 1: Food Investigation (15%)

    Students' understanding of the working characteristics, functional and chemical properties of ingredients.

    Practical investigations are a compulsory element of this NEA task.

    Task 2: Food Preparation Assessment (35%)

    Students' knowledge, skills and understanding in relation to the planning, preparation, cooking, presentation of food and application of nutrition related to the chosen task.

    Students will prepare, cook and present a final menu of three dishes within three hours, planning in advance how this will be achieved.

    How it's assessed

    • Task 1: Written or electronic report (1,500–2,000 words) including photographic evidence of the practical investigation (15% of GCSE)
    • Task 2: Written or electronic portfolio including photographic evidence. Photographic evidence of the three final dishes must be included. (35% of GCSE)

    The NEA is undertaken in Year 11.

    Food studies matter to us as individuals: the ability to create, adapt and cook meals which are healthy, economical and delicious is a true life skill…

    This is the link to the Home Economics:  Food Preparation and Nutrition specification.


    Click here to view the Child Development Learning Journey

    Child Development Programmes of Study

    Child Development Programmes of Study

    Key Stage 4 -  Child Development

    Following the Cambridge Nationals Level 1/2 Child Development Specification (J818) students study the following 3 topics:

    Unit One:  All students will learn the essential knowledge and understanding for child development, covering reproduction, parental responsibility, antenatal care, birth, postnatal checks, care, conditions for development, childhood illnesses and child safety. Knowledge gained would be of use for further studies in PHSE, Biology and other Child Development qualifications.

    Unit Two: In Unit 2, students will gain knowledge of the equipment needs of babies and young children and an understanding of the factors to be considered when choosing appropriate equipment to meet all of these needs. They will also gain knowledge of nutrition and hygiene practices and will be given the opportunity to evaluate dietary choices.

    Unit Three: In Unit 3, students will gain knowledge of, and skills in, developing activities to observe development norms in children up to the age of five. This unit will include researching, planning, carrying out activities with children and observing and reviewing these activities, as well as an understanding of the development norms and the benefits of play in child development.



    There are 2 centre-assessed tasks and 1 written exam paper which will be taken at the end of year 11.


    Assessment Method

    % of grade

    Health and well-being for child development

    Written paper (exam)

    1 hour and 15 minutes.


    Understand the equipment and nutritional needs of children from birth to five years

    Controlled assessment completed in class.  Approximately 7-10 hours


    Understand the development of a child from birth to five years.

    Controlled assessment completed in class.  Approximately 7-10 hours


    Grading and awarding grades

    All results are awarded on the following scale:

    • Distinction* at Level 2 (*2)

    • Distinction at Level 2 (D2)

    • Merit at Level 2 (M2)

    • Pass at Level 2 (P2)

    • Distinction at Level 1 (D1)

    • Merit at Level 1 (M1)

    • Pass at Level 1 (P1).